Modern History of China timeline

1644-1911: Imperial Qing dynasty
1911: Republican Revolution over throws Qing dynasty,
1912 – 1927: Republic of China founded, war lords all over China, ROC government based in Beijing ruling small part of China
1927 – 1937: Most warlords brought under control by KMT government based in Wuhan/ Nanjing / etc.  with CPC in control of various “Soviet Areas”
1937 – 1945: War of resistance against Japanese aggression, KMT and CPC in coalition
1946 – 1949 (present day?) GMD and CPC in civil war over control of China. (KMT government “ruling” from Taiwan, from 1949 (now out of power)

1949: Establishment of the People’s Republic of China (PRC) under the CCP led by Mao Zedong

1950 – 1953: Korean War

1952: Land reform essentially completed

1958: Great Leap Forward starts, setting up of people’s communes

1959: Uprising in Tibet leads to the flight of Dalai Lama to India

1960: The Soviet Union withdraws its experts as Sino-Soviet relations decline.

1962: Sino-Indian border war

1966 – 1976: Cultural Revolution

1969: Border clashes with the Soviet Union signal near total breakdown in relations

1971: The PRC joins the United Nations

Early 1970s: Many Western countries, Japan and others establish diplomatic relations with China

1972: US President Richard Nixon visits China in February

1976: Mao Zedong dies 9 September, radical “gang of four” falls 6 October

1978: Third Plenum of Eleventh Central Committee inaugurates reform policies and puts Deng Xiaoping in power (December).

1979: China and the United States establish formal diplomatic relations (1 January)

1980: Introduction of one-child-per-couple policy

1981: Central Committee condemns the Cultural Revolution and sharply criticizes Mao Zedong’s leadership

1989: Disturbances in Tibet (March). Student movement suppressed (4 June). Jiang Zemin become CCP general secretary (24 June)

1990: Uprising in Baren Township in Southwest Xinjiang

1991: Soviet Union disintegrates

1992: Journey to China’s south by Deng Xiaoping reaffirms reform policies

  1. Deng Xiaoping dies (19 February); Hong Kong returns to China (1 July)

1999: Macau returns to China (20 December)

2001: Islamist terrorism results in destruction of the World Trade Towers in New York (11 September).

2002: Hu Jintao replaces Jiang Zemin as president, while Wen Jiabao replaces Zhu Rongji as premier of the State Council.

2003: Hu Jintao replaces Jiang Zemin as CCP general secretary

2008: Beijing Olympics successful.

  1. July, riots occur in Urumqi, the Xinjiang capital.

2012: Xi Jinping replaces Hu Jintao as president, and Li Keqiang replaces Wen Jiabao as premier of the State Council

2013: Xi Jinping replaces Hu Jintao as general secretary of the CCP

2015: China excels in meeting Millennium Development Goals laid down by the United Nations in 2000; the proportion of those living in extreme poverty dropped from 61 per cent in 1990 to 4 per cent in 2015. China’s stock exchange experiences difficulties

2016: China’s one-child-per-couple policy is replaced by a two-children-per-couple policy

Chronology of Isabel’s life:
1915: born in Chengdu,
1918: first trip to Canada
1920 returned to China
1926 returned to Canada
1938 returned to China
1931 returned to China
1938/9: graduate from UVIc, return to China, anthropology in Tibetan / Yi areas
1940 met David in Chengdu
1940-1942: rural study in Xinglongchang
1942 – 1947: in the forces in Britain
1947 – 1949: in the liberated areas of north China
1966 returned to China
present: teaching at BFSU and forebears,/ retirement in Beijing